Sunday, June 11, 2017

Delete or Not Delete that is the Question...

The classroom blog is finished for the year and you're not sure if the answer is to delete and start with a "Fresh New Classroom Blog". I could probably come up with a million reasons to support both sides when comparing "Why" with "Why Not." This much I will say is you might want to set the blog to private instead of deleting it. This is because all blog deletions eventually become permanent with "No" turning back. Why put yourself in this position after you and the students worked so hard to create the blog?

Setting the blog to private and removing all readers, and authors is one way to archive a blog. I do believe this is a safe way to maintain old records which could possibly be used for some future need. 

Set Blog to Private

  1. Sign into Blogger Dashboard
  2. Click Settings
  3. Scroll Down to Basics
  4. Go to Permissions Section
  5. Next to Blog Readers & Public Click Edit
  6. Change to "Private-Only Blog Author"
  7. Click Save Changes

Delete a Blog

  1. Sign into Blogger Dashboard    
  2. Click Settings
  3. Select Other
  4. Go to Delete Section
  5. Click Delete Blog

NOTE: Before deleting a blog it is best practice to download a copy

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please feel free to add a comment or share an idea for creating educational blogs.